Get thee to nature.

urbansunrise

Urban sunrise

 

I woke up today with the breeze blowing through the window above my bed. The cool, urban air soothes me these days. I can smell damp foliage from the trees that line our street. I can hear the few morning birds chirp among the city’s industrious pigeon calls. Their tiny chirping reminds me of my much-greener hometown, where thousands of songbirds egg on each morning from the hundreds of trees bowing majestically over our neighborhood.

I had about thirty minutes to lie there and ponder, so I picked Ralph Waldo Emerson’s Nature from my bedside table:

“…nature satisfies by its loveliness and without any mixture of corporeal benefits. I see the spectacle of morning from the hilltop over against my house, from daybreak to sunrise, with emotions which an angel might share. The long slender bars of cloud float like fishes in the sea of crimson light. From the earth, as a shore, I look out into that silent sea. I seem to partake its rapid transformations; the active enchantment reaches my dust, and I dilate and conspire with the morning wind. How does nature deify us with a few and cheap elements! Give me health and a day, and I will make the pomp of emperors ridiculous. The dawn is my Assyria; the sunset and moon-rise my Paphos, and unimaginable realms of faerie; broad noon shall be my England of the senses and understanding; the night shall be my Germany of mystic philosophy and dreams.”

Our cities may feed our minds, but it is nature that purifies our souls. Nature grounds us.

—-

I’m planning a day-long forest walk with one of my friends in late April. Our intention is to not talk about our lives, but just observe and play in the nature around us. We both believe that nature heals. We both believe that urban over-submersion creates depression and despondency.

11 comments

  1. Great video Jami 😀 ❤

  2. MrJohnson

    Nice to meet you in person 🙂

    I have often found it difficult to decipher between acceptance and giving up but it is becoming more clear in recent months. We are taught we can change anything we want about ourselves and our lives, and if we don’t then we should blame ourselves. I’m starting to get away from that mindset, thank goodness.

    • I know, I’ve read your blogs about that, and it is a bit tough. I think the key is to do what really inspires you. Because then it’s not about the goal, but the journey. We can still achieve our goals, and sometimes that takes grueling work, but if we listen to what gives us passion, I think we’ll know more easily when to accept “giving up”. Maybe I’m totally wrong. I don’t know.

  3. therapyjourney

    Lovely video, that takes guts to post! I love the idea a nature walk where “you don’t talk about your lives”. Yes! The Iowa urban sunrise looks spectacular. truly

    • Yeah these videos are a bit silly, but I love how positive I was in some of them. I guess why the heck not just post one for fun. 😉 and the walk: it is nice…and you’d be surprised at what a challenge that can be! We humans traipse through the forest, shaking the ground and talking about our lives, not even noticing how subtle and beautiful nature can be. We are a funny species. 😉

  4. So nice to see you in person. Btw, I am very envious of your hair 🙂
    Nature is great. I come from a very small, coastal town, a very beautiful place, surrounded by sea and a lake. I used to love taking walks there. When I moved to London I really missed the nature. Now, in Chiang Mai it is a little differnet. I can take my scooter and just drive to the mountains in 30 minutes. I went camping last week. I woke up early the next day and was just looking through the mosquito net at the sky and the trees and felt total bliss. I wish I could live in a forest sometimes.

    • Oooh I wish to live in the forest too somedays. Cool that you go camping to get away. I love doing that too! It just makes me feel so calm and normal, like there’s really nothing to it all. I’m just me! I bet you have some beautiful pics, at any rate!

      Hair: haha, thank you. 🙂 I had whacked at my fringe there (as I tend to do when I am bored) so I think it looks sorta goofy. 😉

  5. 365dniwobiektywielg

    Great colors!

Leave a comment